top of page

Hail, Caesar!


Hail Caesar is the newest film directed by the famous Coen Brothers who have directed some of America's favorite movie such as Fargo, No Country for Old Men, and of course, The Big Lebowski, which is most likely one of the best comedies ever made. How does this movie hold against those? Well, most people aren't liking this and I have no idea what they are talking about. This movie is a love letter not only to 50's cinema but the process of making a film forever, which I have a great interest in. The movie is said to about George Clooney's character getting kidnapped for a ransom, but that is more or less a sub plot. The film is really about Josh Brolin's character playing the character of a Hollywood "fixer", meaning someone who goes around and fixes everyone's problems. And in reality, it's him having a bad work day. This movie has quite the cast. It has Ralph Fiennes, George Clooney, Scarlett Johansson who isn't too bad to look at if you ask me but let's not draw too much attention to her as she only has two or three parts in the film. Speaking of only having a couple of scenes, Channing Tatum holy shit. Although my favorite part of the movie is his musical number, I was sad he wasn't in it more as he is rather hilarious. Jonah Hill is on the poster but he literally has one scene and I would just consider him a cameo. But the man who stole the show for me at least was Mr. Alden Ehrenreich. Ehrenreich's character is used to playing the cowboy type character but when he is cast in a drama, you learn he's just not the right fit. This movie is hilarious. My audience was in uproar and filled with elders which surprised me. This was not advertised as a movie I thought they would take interest in but it is one of the best audiences I have ever sat with and not only because of the lack of the annoying teenagers. Anyways, thinking back, I'm not sure that there is a single joke that fell flat. I was very satisfied. The performances given are breath-taking in my opinion. I don't have too many things to say about this picture. It was hilarious, perfectly acted, beautifully shot and the Coens definitely know what they are doing when talking about the film making process. Negatives? A mainstream audience might not appreciate it, not to sound protenious. I have a feeling this will be one of the best films of the year, although it may be hard to say. There's a lot of films I'm looking forward to. I'll probably end up seeing it again before it leaves theaters and I'll be the first in line to buy the Blu-Ray. I highly recommend you see this film. It deserves all of the money it can get. SCORE: 9.0/10


Greetings Humans!

I'm Gabe Thomas, and this is my blog!

Follow me
    bottom of page