top of page

Creed Review


Creed is a 2015 boxing drama directed by Ryan Coogler. It's stars Michael B. Jordan and Sylvester Stallone. This is indeed a spinoff of the Rocky franchise, this time we follow in the path of Apollo Creed's son, Donnie. His dad has died (Spoiler for Rocky IV) and he grew up never knowing his father but he wants to be a boxer and is always starting fights. So, he tracks down Rocky Balboa and he trains him. I went into this movie loving the Rocky franchise and if I'm being 100% honest, I like Creed more than all of the other Rocky movies. I have heard very, very positive reviews for this movie and I am here to give another one. Creed is very likely my favorite movie of 2015. It is beautifully shot, has one of the best scores of the year, it has nearly flawless acting and an amazing sense of humor. The fight scenes in this movie, oh my god! They are some of the best boxing fight scenes out there. The best one is this fight that is done fairly early on and is all done in one take. It is absolutely riveting. I was literally cheering by the end of this movie. I walked out of the theater with a big ass smile on my face. This movie is great wether you've seen the Rocky franchise or not. But seriously, watch those movies. Except part 5. Part 5 is terrible. There was a plot twist that I predicted and is pretty cheesy. Also, Donnie's love interest isn't the best in the world, but she dosen't make the movie unwatchable or anything. The message of the movie is wanting to create your own name and not just tagging on to your family's legacy and that is a great message in my personal opinion. I don't want to say too much but everyone should see this movie. It is absolutely incredible. SCORE: 9.8/10

Greetings Humans!

I'm Gabe Thomas, and this is my blog!

Follow me
    bottom of page