top of page

Kopy Kings Review


Hey... I'm back.

And for a limited time too. I haven't posted to this site for over a year now, and I'm sorry about that. No promises my return will be permanent, but I have been personally asked by Greg Dorchak, the writer and director of this indie flick, to review it. I have to say that upfront, but that doesn't mean I'll just be giving it a positive review because I feel obligated too.

However, Kopy Kings on the whole is a pretty solid comedy flick. If I had to compare it to something, I'd say it feels a lot like Office Space. They're both workplace comedies with a group of dysfunctional misfits at the forefront. Kopy Kings takes place in a 24-hour copy shop, and follows the misadventures of owner Maggie and her assistant Dan, along with everyone else who works in the shop.

Maggie is a cute lead, but my favorite character has to be Finny, portrayed by Patrick Grover (Arnez). He's not in it a whole lot, but when he is, he's hilarious. He's a prankster, which is a trope I usually HATE in movies, but I think he does a great job in it. He's funny, sly and just a good character. I also really enjoy Darrell Mitchell as Brad. A country boy on his first day of work, being constantly hassled by everyone else in the workplace.

The person who hates Brad the most though is David Moxham's Dan. He's scared of Brad getting in the way of his relationship with Maggie, and that's when we get to one of the problems with the movie. I think the romance is a bit weak. There are some sweet moments between them, but I think it just feels way too scripted. It isn't awful. It's not Bella Swan and Edward Cullen stale. It's not Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey awkward. It's just not as solid as other stuff out there.

The movie has a very dry sense of humor a lot of the time, which I personally enjoy, but if that isn't your thing, you might not like a lot of the jokes in this movie. I thought it was hilarious most of the way through. It takes a bit to get going but around the 30 minute mark it becomes gold. It can occasionally become a little immature for my taste, but not a deal-breaker.

I think Kopy Kings is a great workplace comedy (if that's your thing). The romance isn't always perfect but it has a lot of other stuff going for it. I hope this film gets discovered in a big way and there's tons of time for it to become a cult classic. For the time being, I believe Kopy King is a hidden comedic gem! You can check it out for $2.99 on Vimeo or for free on Amazon Prime. Come back to me and let me know your thoughts.

I'm not going to do the "if you like..." bit. I'm just gonna give it a grade, and say maybe I'll be coming back. Maybe...

SCORE: 8/10

Greetings Humans!

I'm Gabe Thomas, and this is my blog!

Follow me
    bottom of page